The Sports Scoop

My View on the World of Sports

ESPN, The Worldwide Leader in Typos

 Here’s ESPN’s front page, featured headline after Florida beat Ohio State. espn-742991.jpg Can you count how many errors are in it?

“Returning as juniors to repeat as champions, Florida’s fab five became back-to-back champs Monday night. The Gators used the 3-pointer (10-18) to toppled Greg Oden and Ohio State 84-75.”

I got two, maybe three if you want to be really picky.  First, their “fab five” of juniors is really just a fab four with Lee Humphrey being a senior.  Next has to be the phrase, “to toppled?”  I’m not an English major, but that is not right.  The last is just how they oddly used the phrase, “The Gators used the 3-pointer…” but I suppose that one can slide.

It is surprising to me that they’re so careless.  In the long run, it’s really not a big deal.  I’m bound to make some errors in my writing, too, but then again, I’m not the face of sports.  Ah well, just a little gripe I have.

In the time it took me to write this post, ESPN has already changed its headline.  They must have realized their stupidity.

April 2, 2007 - Posted by | College Basketball, ESPN, NCAA Tournament

3 Comments »

  1. I guess when they have to have it out online the very second it happens there is little time for proofreading and someone screwed up.

    I understand that there are a few legitimate college basketball fans and it may be sacrilege to state this outloud, but if it weren’t for the gambling on the tournament would anybody really care?

    Comment by tyduffy | April 2, 2007

  2. They are still light years ahead of SI’s columns. It seems like every SI column I read there is at least 2 mistyped/mis-spelled words. Just very sloppy.

    Comment by manaretta | April 3, 2007

  3. tyduffy, good point. I am one who would still care, but there definitely would be a large number who wouldn’t if it weren’t for the gambling involved.

    Comment by sappelhans | April 3, 2007


Leave a comment