The Sports Scoop

My View on the World of Sports

NCAA Tournament Prediction; Hoyas to Take the Title

Michael Wilbon says that he likes Georgetown to win the NCAA Tournament. I have to agree.

Let me start off by saying that I have liked the Hoyas all season. I made them my tournament favorite sometime in early January when they knocked off Notre Dame for the first time. From that point on, they were on ESPN basically every game they played, so I got a good look at them. I really liked how they played and they’ve been my pick ever since.

When the brackets came out, I started out by putting Georgetown in the spot for hoya.jpg“Champion” and went to work from there. North Carolina vs. Texas seems like an inevitable match up, with the winner likely the only competition Georgetown will face before the final four. After that, I have the Hoyas taking down Texas A&M in the semi-finals before handling Kansas in the National Championship game.

Georgetown has the ability to play both up tempo and in the half court. Their defense is solid (held Pittsburg to only 42 points in the Big East Championship) and they get after it on the boards. They shoot free throws at a high percentage and have a difference maker in Jeff Green that they can rely on if needed. This team really has no glaring weakness.

The one thing that I believe can stop the Hoyas is their lack of depth. They mainly use a 6 man rotation with some other players grabbing a couple of minutes here and there. If Georgetown’s players, especially their guards Jessie Sapp and Jonathan Wallace, get into foul trouble, then the bench will have to really step up – something they haven’t been asked to do in big games this year.

Apparently, Georgetown is now a fashionable pick to win the tournament. As much as that should reassure me that I’m on the right track, I feel less confident as a result of the popularity. Maybe it’s because people are on the same wave length as me which is a rarity. Anyhow, I’m sticking with Georgetown to take home the title.

March 14, 2007 - Posted by | Basketball, College Basketball, NCAA, NCAA Tournament, Sports

3 Comments »

  1. Usually I have a team in my head. This year, I have no idea. I just filled out my bracket and somehow I ended up with Florida repeating. I like Georgetown as well. I am just worried that their guards won’t be quite good enough.

    Comment by tyduffy | March 15, 2007

  2. Good pick. I also have KU and Georgetown in my final and almost went with Georgetown to win it all. I ended up taking Kansas because of talent and depth. However, KU always seems to find a way to choke in the Dance, so I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see the Hoyas cutting down the nets. In my mind, these are definitely the two hottest teams in the field.

    Comment by ahalperin | March 15, 2007

  3. Im likein’ G. Town to make some noise…

    Comment by joeyballgame | March 15, 2007


Leave a Reply

