The Sports Scoop

My View on the World of Sports

College Basketball Switching to Spandex Jerseys?

While watching my daily dose of Pardon the Interruption, a topic came up that I hadn’t heard anything previously about.  Apparently, some mens’ college basketball teams are going to be experimenting with tight fitting, spandex tops.  I thought it had to be a joke, but they had pictures (which I cannot find) and everything to back it up.  I didn’t catch all of the names of teams who would be giving a shot, but they said that roughly seven will be giving the new uniforms a shot.  Syracuse was the one big name that I remember.

I just have one question.  WHY? 

There is absolutely no need for a uniform change in basketball.  If there is a good reason why they are doing this, I would love to hear it. 

I would mention something about women having to wear spandex tops as well, but I will save myself the ridicule. 

If anyone has more information about this, I am very interested in hearing it.

March 6, 2007 - Posted by | Basketball, College Basketball, Sports, Uniforms

7 Comments »

  1. Syracuse, Florida, Ohio State and Arizona will wear them in the NCAA tourneys.

    Tight on top, loose on bottom. It’s like they got their design concepts from Aquaman and Kilts.

    Now it’s only a matter of time before the NBA has all their players wearing it.

    Comment by manaretta | March 7, 2007

  2. Sounds ridiculous. I was going to root against all of those schools anyway, but now they’ve given me one more reason.

    Comment by extrapolater | March 7, 2007

  3. Hey this is Matthew over at “The Diamond Cutter.” Thanks for the congrats!

    As far as my writing background, I really don’t have anything glamorous. Basically I’ve always enjoyed writing and once you start writing about something you are passionate and knowledgable about, you are off on the right foot. From there its all about who sees your work. Make sure to comment on other people’s boards and by simply visiting their sites, many people (like me) view their hits and where they come from. If they see your name a lot, they will probably end up clicking your link and checking you out.

    The way MVN discovered me was when one of their columnists (who is also the Director of Baseball for MVN) asked me to join their weekly Pittsburgh Pirates roundtable discussion because they liked my writing. From there they saw my work on prospects and really enjoyed that and wanted to bring me on exclusively for that.

    Really there’s no secret on how to get into the business. Thanks to the internet people who never would have had their work seen now can. I think you writing is very good and hopefully eventually you’ll catch a break too!

    Comment by Matthew | March 7, 2007

  4. According to my local paper, the San Diego Union-Tribune,

    “The jerseys and shorts are made of alightweight breathable material, Nike said. Beneath the shorts and jerseys, players will have a choice of wearing long- or short- sleeve or sleevelss Nike compression tops and padded compression shorts and leggings.”

    Sounds to me like another Nike marketing campaing. Aside from which, they look like spandex retreads from the 80’s.

    Comment by Hershey | March 8, 2007

  5. I’m just catching my first live glimpse of them while Syracuse is taking on Notre Dame. I don’t know what to make of them.

    Comment by sappelhans | March 8, 2007

  6. I agree with Matthew. I think they are just trying to nose their way into the underarmor market.

    I am just waiting for this stuff to get introduced into the Big Ten. Just imagine that big gumpy white guy that every team in that conference has wearing a skin tight nike compression top. It will be amazing.

    Besides covering Bacne, I can’t see any tangible reason for this being introduced.

    Comment by tyduffy | March 8, 2007

  7. Sound like they are just trying to make more money. But the thought sounds ridiculous!

    Comment by joeyballgame | March 9, 2007


Leave a Reply

