The Sports Scoop

My View on the World of Sports

John Amaechi Announces His Homosexuality

It has been reported that John Amaechi, former NBA journeyman, is going to admit to being gay in an upcoming book.  Amaechi, the first former NBA player to publicly admit to being gay, retired in 2003 after just five NBA seasons.

nba_maninmiddle_195.jpgThe reaction from some current NBA players is what bothers me, mainly Shavlik Randolph of the Philadelphia 76ers.  When asked about how he would feel if he had an openly gay teammate, Randolph said, “As long as you don’t bring your gayness on me I’m fine.” 

This sounds like something I would hear coming from someone in junior high.  Maybe I have overestimated the maturity level of some NBA players. 

Personally, I have no problem with Amaechi coming out if that is what he feels he needs to do.  I do not think it was necessary for him to make public his sexual preference though.  That is personal information that no one needs to know and the media blows out of perportion.  I understand if he is trying to lead the way for other homosexual NBA players to come out, but once again, I do not understand why they would feel obligated to.  Maybe he is just trying to make some money selling a book, who knows.  However, I admitting this takes a lot of courage, so for that I applaud you Mr. Amaechi.

February 8, 2007 - Posted by | Basketball, NBA, News, Sports

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

